Browse By

WHITE LIES Announce New Album “Friends”

WHITE LIES reveal first single to be taken from their new album Friends.


After three consecutive Top 5 albums, White Lies now announce that they will release their fourth album Friends later this year.

For many reasons it feels like a fresh start. The trio were temporarily without a label after a bout of record company reorganisation. Rather than re-sign straight away, they decided to start Friends under their own steam without the pressure of a deadline or a budget, or even the guidance of a producer. What’s more, with this new record, White Lies haven’t so much abandoned their trademark synth-rock sound as given it a spring clean by exploring new sounds.

The changing nature of relationships is a recurring theme throughout the album.

In the past couple of years, we’ve noticed friends’ life situations causing them to make big decisions – marriages, kids, moving out of London – says bassist and lyricist Charles Cave. Friendships have begun to feel adult and our perception of time has changed. As kids, if you didn’t see a mate for a fortnight, you’d wonder what was wrong. Now you might not see someone for six months and it doesn’t matter.

Take It Out On Me is the first single to be taken from the album. The track started as an experiment in which Cave aimed to write a chorus using just numbers.

Right up until we recorded the song it was called 89-1-3 – he says. It was inspired by a lunatic on Instagram who kept commenting on a friend’s photos in pseudo Biblical verse. From his profile I discovered he lived in a remote cabin with a rough-looking dog. He posted weird videos in which he quoted random numbers. As a challenge, I turned them in to a song. The only problem was that it went so well everyone said it should be the first single, so I relented and gave the chorus real lyrics.

Friends was recorded in Bryan Ferry’s private studio in London’s Olympia and was self-produced by the band. White Lies enlisted the help of an expert team including Grammy Award-winning engineer James Brown (Foo Fighters, Arctic Monkeys), David Wrench (Caribou, FKA Twigs) on mixing duties and long-term collaborator Ed Buller who contributed additional production.

The album Friends is due for release on October 7th via BMG.

The band have also announced an extensive UK and European tour which stretches from late September through to the start of December. See some dates below.


22 – London, O2 Shepherd’s Bush Empire

24 – Nottingham, Rock City

25 – Manchester, Albert Hall

26 – Liverpool, Arts Club

27 – Glasgow, O2 ABC

29 – Birmingham, O2 Institute

30 – Leeds, Stylus


1 – Bristol, O2 Academy