Browse By

HOLDING ABSENCE Share Video for New Single ‘Perish’

Bringing an ability to translate the most vulnerable of human emotions into music, Holding Absence return with intense new track Perish.

Holding Absence 2019

Following the release of Like A Shadow last year, Cardiff quintet Holding Absence give us a further tease of their upcoming debut album with newest single Perish. Set to be released on March 8th via SharpTone Records, vocalist Lucas Woodland said about the album:

After what feels like the longest time, we are incredibly happy to announce our debut self-titled album, ‘Holding Absence’. Lyrically and musically, we have pushed ourselves so hard to have an album that we fully feel represents this band in the best way possible. We’re so proud of this release, and can’t wait for you guys to hear it.

Opening with serene electronics, this guise of tranquillity is quickly shattered as searing instrumentals rip through with violent passion. Melodic vocals float on top of a bed of urgent drumming, creating a tension between the conflicting textures before it resolves in an explosive chorus. Exploring feelings of pain and nostalgia, the lyrics will cut straight to your core in its honesty, and the intensity of every emotion is captured in the raw delivery. The visuals for the track manage to bring out the depth of the track, showing a fiery performance in the signature black and white aesthetic of the band.

Speaking about the track, Lucas says:

Perish is the second single off our new album Holding Absence, and it helps to show a darker, heavier side of our universe. The album contains lots of different depths and directions, and we feel like the contrast between Like A Shadow and Perish helps to perfectly sum up the forthcoming album.

Catch the band on their headline tour in March.


21 – Southampton, Joiners

22 – Birmingham, Flapper

23 – Leeds, Key Club

24 – Hull, O Reilly’s

25 – Glasgow, Garage

27 – Manchester, Rebellion

28 – Cardiff, Globe

29 – London, Underworld