Browse By

PHOEBE BRIDGERS Announces New Album ‘Punisher’

Alongside announcing her upcoming second album, Punisher, Phoebe Bridgers also shares new single Kyoto to tease it.

Phoebe Bridgers 2020Following the release of Garden Song earlier this year, Phoebe Bridgers has confirmed news of an upcoming sophomore album and provided an additional taste of what to expect with new single Kyoto. The album, Punisher, is set to be released on June 19th via Dead Oceans, and was penned between the summer of 2018 and autumn 2019; perhaps that goes some way to explain the sunshine-doused, nostalgic melodies that feature in Kyoto. Bursting with glimmering instrumentals, including some resounding brass playing, Kyoto takes on an almost larger-than-life character with its evocative lyricism and cocooning soundscape.

Speaking on the track, Phoebe explains:

This song is about impostor syndrome. About being in Japan for the first time, somewhere I’ve always wanted to go, and playing my music to people who want to hear it, feeling like I’m living someone else’s life. I dissociate when bad things happen to me, but also when good things happen. It can feel like I’m performing what I think I’m supposed to be like. I wrote this one as a ballad first, but at that point I was so sick of recording slow songs, it turned into this.

Phoebe Bridgers Punisher 2020


  1. DVD Menu
    2. Garden Song
    3. Kyoto
    4. Punisher
    5. Halloween
    6. Chinese Satellite
    7. Moon Song
    8. Savior Complex
    9. ICU
    10. Graceland Too
    11. I Know The End