Browse By

MARIKA HACKMAN Unveils New Video for ‘Time’s Been Reckless’

Following the aesthetic footpath of her marvelling sophomore I’m Not Your Man, Marika Hackman releases the visuals for Time’s Been Reckless.

With her ballsy confident second record, Marika Hackman entered new, vibrant soundscape. Her savvy lyrics and brittle guitar work is a massive step up from her soaring folk debut, and I’ve gotta say, we love it.

Switching between 35 mm and glichy lo-fi FX the visuals connect very well with the aesthetical theme for the album. The lo-fi cuts are live setups in action, mixed with close ups of food and creepy crawly things.

Marika about the video:

I wanted to do a performance video to highlight the energetic nature of the music, but I also wanted more gruesome visuals to reflect the dark themes of death and decay within the lyrics.  We filmed maggots, snails and various other insects feeding on different foods from the album artwork, in a style that harks back to those old VHS tapes teachers would put on in biology lessons.

Marika also announced a November UK headline tour and you can catch her at the following dates:


13 – Brighton, The Haunt

14 – Oxford, Bullingdon Arms

15 – Leicester, The Cookie

16 – Manchester, Gorilla

17 – Leeds, Wardrobe

19 – Glasgow, King Tut’s Wah Wah Hut

20 – Newcastle, Think Tank

21 –  Nottingham, Bodega

22 – Bristol, Thekla

23 – London, Shepherd’s Bush Empire