Browse By

HELLIONS Announce New Album ‘Rue’

Australian four-piece Hellions lift exquisite new cut Smile, off of their eagerly awaited new album, Rue.

Set for October 19th release, Rue follows on from the band’s critically-acclaimed 2016’s theatrical masterpiece Opera Oblivia.

Following boldly in the footsteps of their previous singles X (Mwah) and Furrow, the new track is a thrilling and genre-bending experience that Hellions excel in. With a thought-provoking message and expansive sonic core that fuses rap-infused elements with melodic choir-like moments, Smile is a dynamic marvel of sounds. Delving into human interactions in the digital age, we are being left with a question: “I’m ready to run, are you ready?”.

Rue is due out on October 19th via UNFD.

Anthony Caruso (drummer/co-writer) and Matt Gravolin (guitar/vocals/cowriter) explain:

The world as we know it wants to be entertained interminably, and now our entertainment often comes at the expense of our compassion. We’ve all found ourselves speaking in blue, snide language about trivial matters that aren’t of any real consequence to us, asserting invalid opinions for the sake of having our voices heard.

Cheap stimulation is addictive and judgemental thinking can take over involuntarily when so much of our mental space is surrendered to it. We seem to be stuck here despite knowing that this thinking and behaviour isn’t conducive to any lasting happiness.


1. (Blueberry)
2. Odyssey
3. X (Mwah)
4. Smile
5. Furrow
6. (Cocoon)
7. Rue
8. (Theatre Of) (feat. Luna)
9. The Lotus
10. Get Up!
11. Harsh Light
12. 26